Transylvanian farm cheese #1

It is great to be back in Budapest for a short while since I have been missing not just my mom’s great dishes but good Hungarian farm-style cheese too as well as cheese making myself… but that is another topic.

Since my apartment is quite close to the farmer;s market I went down today to look around but I sadly had to realize that my favorite specialty stores have all closed due to the pandemic hopefully not forever.

This time I bumped into a cute cheese place serving mostly farm-style cheese from Transylvania and this is just what I needed that point. Lovely fresh cheese made with care and love 🙂

I did try 3 for this time that I would like to recommend some pairing with :

1.6 months old semi-hard Trappist monk style, cow mil cheese ( from Torocko)

6 months old Trappist Monk cheese made in the Transylvanian countryside. Creamy, buttery cowmilk cheese with some nutty notes.

🧀 &🍷 pairing : Pinot Grigio or Riesling.

2. 2 years old semi-hard cow milk cheese (from Tekerőpatak )

2 years old semi-hard cow milk cheese from Tekerôpatak, Transylvania. Great Swiss-style cheese with earthy and complex characteristics .

🧀 & 🍷 pairing : Cava, Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling

🧀 & 🍺 pairing : Brown ales and Pilsners

3. Fresh sheep cheese

Fresh sheep cheese 🐑 No unnecessary additives just a tiny pinch of salt and it becomes your best friend for the summer. Ideal for summer salads

🧀 &🍷 pairing : ideal with crisp, dry and young bottlings like Pinot Blanc, Verdejo, young Chardonnay and of my all time favorite Sauvignon Blanc.

Leave a comment